Last Chance At Twilight

 

McDisco and I were recently debating the best Island record. I argued for Hopscotch (the last track below); he preferred a dodgy Robert Palmer song. Test Pressing put together an Island mix a while back, but it wasn’t really a ‘mix’; so I thought I’d do one. I ended up throwing in a bunch of other stuff with the Sly & Robbie productions, including some New York noise, bounce, and an anachronistic J-Walk 45, but it captures the dubby early 80s sound I was going for. It was nice to fit in the Grace Jones Muscle Mix, which you’ve probably only heard if you once owned Island Life on cassette, and Cavern (for anyone who wondered where Melle Mel got the idea for White Lines from) – plus of course I could justify sneaking the extended version of Walking in The Rain into another mix. It all starts with Maze’s sublime Twilight, dedicated to Saul “I don’t care if it features Frankie fucking Beverly or not” Walker.

  1. Twilight – Maze
  2. Chief Inspector – Wally Badarou
  3. Nipple To The Bottle (Dub) – Grace Jones
  4. Muscle Mix – Grace Jones
  5. Walking In The Rain (Extended Version) – Grace Jones
  6. Cavern – Liquid Liquid
  7. The Magnificent Dance – The Clash
  8. Bounce, Rock, Skate, Roll – Vaughan Mason and Crew
  9. Situation (Dub) – Yazoo
  10. Heavens Above – J-Walk
  11. Hopscotch – Gwen Guthrie

Download

~ by ricardosevere on 09/24/2012.

2 Responses to “Last Chance At Twilight”

  1. Youve just inspired me to get out of bed (it’s 10am here in Australia) and do some study… After I’ve downloaded this new mix.
    Thanks! I was needing some inspiration!!

  2. I stand by it … Twilight does sound a bit like a dodgy filler moment from 9½ Weeks. Nice mix though, shame I can’t can’t slip a memorex into my Nakamichi RX-50 to listen to it.

Leave a Reply

 
